I melt!

Lazily, I walk around the house. I stand near the big window facing the lawn and gaze out aimlessly. After a while I settle on the couch and continue to survey the sunlit backyard. Few squirrels run around hunting for their food,  the neighbor’s cat (the one we have lovingly named Tiger) sits comfortably on the concrete patch only getting up to scare a bird or two every so often, the rain of yellow leaves happens with every crispy Fall breeze. It is a beautiful sight. I have forgotten about work. I could sit here all day and be lost in this world that, at this moment, is only mine.

Time passes, I don’t know how long. And then come a family of deer. Their pace swift, their senses intent, their presence abundantly joyous. Of the four or five that graze around on the lawn there is a tiny one that is exceptionally cute. Before I can get enough of ogling at how adorable he is, he hops away and goes to hide between two trees. Sigh.

I email the partner right away letting him know that there was this cute little fawn on our lawn. He immediately responds asking me to take photos. I am too lazy to move, I tell him. Moreover, that one has skillfully found his place between two trees making it impossible to get a proper photo from the living room. The partner responds saying ‘In that case look at it for a long long time and I will look into your eyes when I get home.’ I smile as I read it, and that’s that. 

Hours pass by and the partner comes back home from work. The first thing he does as he sees me is place his hands on my cheeks and looks deep into my eyes. By this time I have already forgotten the email exchange from afternoon. Moments later, still unblinking, he says ‘let’s see… He was this tall and was facing that way wasn’t he? Wow, he is cute!’ And I melt. I argue about possibilities, probability and what not (yes, I do know how to ruin the moment, don’t I?). Still he maintains that it was Love because of which he could enjoy the beautiful sight through my eyes. A huge happy smile appears on my face.

And I fall in love with him, again.

  1. #1 by paatiamma on November 7, 2013 - 11:55 pm

    🙂 Lovely!

    🙂

    Like

  2. #2 by greenboochi on November 8, 2013 - 1:43 am

    Stay this way forever! This was such an “awww” filled post – I almost have tears in my eyes 🙂

    thank you!

    Like

  3. #3 by Visha on November 8, 2013 - 1:46 am

    🙂

    too sweet!!

    indeed 🙂

    Like

  4. #4 by celestialrays on November 8, 2013 - 6:00 am

    Beeeeeeeeeg smile here 🙂
    It makes me immensely happy to see the love my friends feel 🙂
    Touchwood!

    beeeeeeeeeeg hug to you! 🙂

    Like

  5. #5 by Arch on November 8, 2013 - 11:33 am

    Awww… 🙂 🙂
    Hugs!! Just feel like hugging you. 🙂

    P.S: Where do you live?? Sounds like a dreamland!!!!

    🙂 a big hug to you too.
    yeah i can be found in my dreamland most of the times 😛 we live in North Carolina. you are more than welcome to visit if you are ever on this side of the world. 🙂

    Like

  6. #6 by Comfy on November 8, 2013 - 1:53 pm

    I have read this post a few times now and every time I come to the end, I close my eyes and send out a little prayer that this love, this happiness always stays with you. Touchwood!

    you are sooo sweet! thank you, Comfy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

