Have you …?

Have you ever walked into a bookstore and felt at home?

Have you ever picked and chose random books – some based on their brilliant covers, some for their witty title, some since it carries your favorite author’s name, some…just ‘cause – and sat right there on the floor at the bookstore to aimlessly open and read a few pages here and a few pages there? Have you then put back all those accidental picks because they are full priced and you won’t pay anything but a good bargain?

Have you experienced that high when one of the books that you’ve been eyeing during your previous few trips to the store finally comes on sale? Have you then promptly grabbed one of the prints out of the shelf, guaranteeing yourself a copy even if every person in the store somehow conspired to buy that exact book thus making its expiry inevitable before it’s time for you to check out? Have you ensured not to be concerned about that little metaphorical thought bubble that then certainly appears to enlighten you of such a thing called rational thinking?

Have you wandered through the New Arrivals section to find the shelves empty to your dismay? Have you undergone those heavy seconds after spotting an unfilled New Arrivals section? Have you wondered whether the void that’s now so prevalent there is due to not having any new releases that particular week/day/month or due to the staff rearranging things around? Have you loitered about the area to see if you can find a reassuring, and not a dispiriting, answer? Have you then breathed that sigh of relief and grinned wide when you noticed an employee pushing a big cart of books, heading towards you? Have you subsequently gone on to speculate, in your mind, what the world would be if there were no new books written going forward? Have you, after that, sensed that immense gratitude for not having to face or being forced into such a dire situation?

Have you succumbed into buying a handful of books and stepped out of a bookstore with the most-loved-during-this-spree books in tow?

Have you ever walked out of a bookstore and savored that rush of anticipation of your next expedition into that magical world of words, even though you left the store only moments earlier?

Have you…?

I have!

,

  1. #1 by slpmartin on February 10, 2014 - 5:01 pm

    Never met a bookstore I didn’t love.

    so true!

    Like

  2. #2 by Revs on February 10, 2014 - 5:26 pm

    🙂

    🙂

    Like

  3. #3 by Psych Babbler on February 10, 2014 - 6:21 pm

    I have for some of those…but you know what? It’s getting harder to do so lately with most of the book stores where I live having closed down. So it’s only if I make a trip into the city of elsewhere that I get to experience this. Sad… 😦

    oh that’s bad. luckily for me there’s one near where I work that I frequent. i hope it never comes down to that place shutting down.

    Like

  4. #4 by Mi on February 10, 2014 - 11:33 pm

    Yes.. I Have…all of what you wrote.. I remember visiting one book shop over and over again for one of the Shiva trilogy books. The waiting on all websites was for more than 10 days or so and every time I went to any book shop I always saw empty shelves and it made me heart sink!

    though lately I am just reading ebooks, but I miss those hardbound books and the feel of reading and turning real pages!

    this was such a nostalgic read! 🙂 loved it!

    thanks, Mi!
    bookstores and empty shelves shouldn’t ever go together 🙂
    I read ebooks once in a while, it just isn’t the same, as you point out. the fun is in touching and turning the pages, yes!

    Like

  5. #5 by anisnest on February 11, 2014 - 9:14 am

    I know you would have..:)

    😀

    Like

  6. #6 by Lavender on February 11, 2014 - 9:53 am

    Yes yes yes! All thru’ the post I answered yes 🙂 Not a bookstore but a lending library near my home is my favorite place!

    libraries are heaven on earth. although the lazy me hasn’t even looked into stopping by the nearest library here since my move. i have so many unread books on shelf that i always find an excuse not to go to the library. maybe i should, soon.

    Like

  7. #7 by Deepa on February 11, 2014 - 10:12 am

    Yup Yup .. I have too .. *Same pinch*.

    We used to live in a small town. In addition to the library, there was a small second hand book shop … I must have spent a fifth of my life there !!

    there was a second hand bookshop nearby my work location when i had moved here couple of years ago. they closed just months after i discovered them. i bought so many books from them on their final days.

    Like

  8. #8 by Deepa on February 11, 2014 - 10:15 am

    I find it pretty boring to read most of the authors these days. The language has too much slang. In addition, I find the language in most books today boring and too flimsy (Wrong word for what I feel .. I mean it doesn’t make an impact on the reader).

    oh, really? which authors do you mean, if you don’t mind sharing?

    Like

  9. #9 by Deepa on February 11, 2014 - 11:21 am

    Authors like james patterson … The mysteries are good, but read a few and it kinda gets very very repetitive … Also, I don’t like the language in them.
    There were about 15 books I gave away coz one read itself was very tiresome.

    I read most of Coelho’s English works … and love the easy narration and the spirituality in them.
    Loved “The Help” … amazing book !
    P. D. James is yet another of my favourites (Conan Doyle and Madam Christie are top on my list for detective novels – as is the case with most people in out generation, I guess -)
    Jan Burke’s Bones was good too.

    Left a reply to your comment on my blog.

    I haven’t read patterson. If you like mystery, along with some history thrown in, try reading Carlos Ruiz Zafón’s Shadow of the Wind, Angel’s Game, etc. they are amazingly written. Keeps one hooked.

    Like

  10. #10 by Arch on February 12, 2014 - 10:36 am

    Loved your post T!! 🙂
    When in Chennai, I was so disappointed to see the Odyssey store in the mall close. It was the main place we used to hang out, checking out all the books. But this time when I went to Chennai, I found a bigger bookstore in it’s place, with shelves behind shelves, all lined with awesome books! I was SO happy that day!! 🙂

    that’s awesome! 🙂

    Like

  11. #11 by kismitoffeebar on February 12, 2014 - 8:10 pm

    I HAVE too! 🙂 I leave all the “rational thinking” at home when I head to the bookstore. Today is thursday. The British ladies open the thrift store right next to my workplace – treasure trove of books it is, Titaxy – pre-loved books with hand-written notes and sometimes dog-eared bookmarks. I am so going! 🙂

    that’s awesome. have fun!

    Like

  12. #12 by The Girl Next Door on February 14, 2014 - 5:59 am

    I have, I have, I have! 🙂

    😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

