Frozen

It’s been nearly twenty months since we moved here. In all this time, I’ve complained repeatedly about how I still miss my home, Boston. More so in winters than in summers because one of the primary motivations for me to move here was the promise of warm southern weather. But all the winter months that I’ve been here so far I’ve not really enjoyed. For it has been cold, temperatures dropping down below freezing, without one of the main things that adds grandeur to winter surrounding – pristine white snow. Snowfall brings calmness to mind in ways nothing else can. For me, its radiance is what makes the chilly temperatures bearable. Boston winters are phenomenal for this reason and not having that here, in spite of having to live though the cold, disappointed me big time.

Today, though, things changed. It snowed. Not the dusty layer of white on the lawn that melts before one can blink, but inches upon inches of thick cover that masked everything underneath. It was incredible to look out the window and watch the snow fall all afternoon. And then the walk on that four or five inch accumulation in the evening added more thrill to the already wonderful day.

One of my dear fellow bloggers requested I post some pictures every now and then to go with the posts. So, this is for you Arch… some snaps from our evening stroll, all taken by K.

Fire pit in our backyard filled with snow

Fire pit in our backyard filled with snow

How cool is that snow cap on the mailbox?

How cool is that snow cap on the mailbox?

The trail where we went for the evening stroll

The trail where we went for the evening stroll

The trail where we went for the evening stroll

Trail, again

Don't you think the bench looks like some musical instrument with snow on top of it?

Don’t you think that the bench, with snow on top, looks like some musical instrument?

A little creek that runs through our neighborhood

A little creek that runs through our neighborhood

P.S: We are going to watch Frozen now. I’ve heard great things about the movie, so I’m super eager and excited…

,

  1. #1 by More than words on February 12, 2014 - 10:10 pm

    The pics are gorgeous….freshly fallen snow does look really beautiful….Frozen is a special movie as it was the first where we took Daughter to the cinema hall….hope u like it….

    didn’t watch it last night, maybe tonight 🙂

    Like

  2. #2 by Psych Babbler on February 12, 2014 - 10:20 pm

    Wow…amazing pictures! I saw snow for the first time in December but obviously, it is nowhere near as beautiful as this.

    🙂 plan to visit here in winter

    Like

  3. #3 by Revs on February 12, 2014 - 11:06 pm

    I watched frozen and LOVED it

    i didn’t see it yesterday. finished Sherlock season 3 instead. maybe tonight i will watch frozen.

    Like

  4. #4 by celestialrays on February 13, 2014 - 2:55 am

    As much as I love snow I have been praying we don’t get it this year. I am scared to walk on slippery surfaces right now.

    i will pray for the same along with you, ok love? no snow for you. send it all my way. 🙂

    Like

  5. #5 by celestialrays on February 13, 2014 - 2:57 am

    Hit the button by mistake. Want to add that the pics look beautiful. As if they are from secret magical land.

    thank you!

    Like

  6. #6 by Mi on February 13, 2014 - 3:34 am

    wow…pictures are lovely! But so much snow! 😦 for some reasons, i like monsoons more now, all of a sudden!

    🙂 thanks! this is still so little snow compared to what i’ve experienced in the north east. still, this was good enough to take me back to those days in Boston

    Like

  7. #7 by Tharani on February 13, 2014 - 8:05 am

    So So beautiful T!

    it is, isn’t it?

    Like

  8. #8 by Lavender on February 13, 2014 - 9:24 am

    You guys used to stay in Boston? Me lives there!!! And we have a snow storm today! 🙂

    yes. i looooveee that city. 🙂

    Like

  9. #9 by princessbutter on February 13, 2014 - 12:18 pm

    All that powdery white looks so divine! Which state are you in?

    divine indeed. i’m in NC

    Like

  10. #10 by Filter Kaapi on February 13, 2014 - 12:30 pm

    I stayed in Nashua (quite close to Boston) for a couple of months and during winter. Loved the freezing rain, sleet and snow! Still vividly remember the sight of Cherries (or their look-alike) covered in ice ….

    oh NH is so beautiful! only last evening during our walk we were discussing how the surroundings remind us of white mountains

    Like

  11. #11 by Filter Kaapi on February 13, 2014 - 12:32 pm

    tch.. tch Hit the button too early… Loved the pics!

    thank you!

    Like

  12. #12 by Pepper on February 13, 2014 - 2:05 pm

    The pictures are gorgeous, gorgeous, simply gorgeous.

    thank you!

    Like

  13. #13 by @realmandydee on February 13, 2014 - 5:41 pm

    Is it alright if I tweet about this posting?

    sure…

    Like

  14. #14 by Comfy on February 13, 2014 - 6:34 pm

    I love when the snow first falls. The untouched feel of it always makes me smile. Roof tops, trees, railings all look decorated. Love that and the pictures you posted capture it all much more than words ever can 🙂

    me too me too me too!

    Like

  15. #15 by The Girl Next Door on February 14, 2014 - 5:15 am

    I’ve always been fascinated by snow, but have never had the chance to experience fresh snowfall. I wait for the day when I will be able to sit by my window with a cup of hot coffee and watch the snow falling in flakes, softly, gently covering the ground, making it all white. I’d love to be able to build a snowman, and hit the OH with huge snowballs. Till then, I enjoy snowfall virtually through blogs like yours. 🙂

    Beautiful, beautiful pics! Especially loved the pic of the mail box. It looks like the mailboxes that you usually find in animations about Christmas and sending letters to Santa Claus. 🙂

    Loved your fire pit. It must be beautiful when a fire is actually lit inside that, no?

    i loved how the snow made a cap on top of the mailbox too.
    yeah, the fire pit did look beautiful the one time that we made campfire in it. we should do it more often 🙂

    Like

  16. #16 by Avada Kedavra on February 14, 2014 - 3:04 pm

    wowwww.. I so badly want to see snow now. 🙂
    Frozen was a very cute movie.. you shoudl watch it.

    still haven’t gotten around to seeing it. soooooon, hopefully.

    Like

  17. #17 by Arch on February 15, 2014 - 3:13 am

    Wow T!!! I love you!!
    Those pictures are soooo beautiful! I love the mailbox, the bench and the creek pics the most! 🙂
    The mailbox pic reminds of a scene from the first Harry Potter movie!
    You sure do live in a heavenly place. 🙂

    🙂 glad you liked it, arch.

    Like

  18. #18 by craftyshines on February 20, 2014 - 10:24 am

    Lovely, chilling pictures!

    I love snow, and I haven’t been in snow ever in my life, till date. The pictures are really inviting 🙂

    How did you like Frozen? I think Disney really did a great job this time!

    still haven’t watched it. sigh. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

