Rest in peace

Two little red birds waddle around in our backyard day after day, pecking little bits of food. They fly away every now and then only to return to this place we call home. They have many companions – the blue bird that visits, the woodpecker that nests around here somewhere, the sparrows, and more from their own family of red cardinals – and all of them play merrily, twittering along sweetly. I have spent many mornings, afternoons and evenings listening to them chirp cheerfully as I relaxed at home.

But today things have changed…

As I woke up and came downstairs, I saw Amma, looking very sad, sitting on the couch and gazing out the window. I asked her what happened, while several reasons started running through my mind right after I’d spotted her gloomy expression. She pointed out and said

They fell from the sky and died immediately. I don’t know what happened… but I saw one come down with a great speed and hit the ground, and the next one followed. They haven’t moved since then. It was a heartbreaking sight, I can’t get over it.

There they lay, the two of them, in our backyard, motionless. My heart skipped a beat. Amma’s forlorn feeling spread over to me as both of us stood there surveying the dreadful sight. I emailed K and told them what I’d seen. He was shocked, to say the least. We’re now waiting for him to come home and do a proper burial for them.

We don’t know what happened, we don’t know why you did what you did (Amma seems to think you are lovers), but we hope you rest in peace, little ones. Be happy, wherever you are. And know that your presence in this world was treasured by us.

,

  1. #1 by Tharani on February 19, 2014 - 12:38 pm

    That’s really sad 😦

    😦

    Like

  2. #2 by Monkey Mind on February 19, 2014 - 12:47 pm

    That is so so sad titaxy:(:(
    Hugs!

    it is 😦 thank you!

    Like

  3. #3 by Filter Kaapi on February 19, 2014 - 12:48 pm

    😦 😦 😦 😦

    😦

    Like

  4. #4 by princessbutter on February 19, 2014 - 1:02 pm

    That is so sad… 😦
    Lately I have been reading a lot about birds falling from skies, mysteriously or fishes bobbing up in water. It is so so sad.

    yeah that’s sad 😦

    Like

  5. #5 by krags r on February 19, 2014 - 1:43 pm

    somehow, the idea of those two “moving on” together rather than mourning separately … looks peaceful to me. you still seem to value these smaller things in life – beautiful as always. and yupe … RIP those two.

    hey you are back! 🙂

    Like

  6. #6 by More than words on February 19, 2014 - 2:03 pm

    Rest in peace little birdies…..it is so sad indeed…

    😦

    Like

  7. #7 by Revs on February 19, 2014 - 7:05 pm

    Acho 😦 Heartbreaking! Hugs, baby!

    thank you!

    Like

  8. #8 by kismitoffeebar on February 19, 2014 - 8:37 pm

    Oh no.. I feel so awful reading this Titaxy 😥 I hope they rest in peace…..

    😦

    Like

  9. #9 by aarya on February 19, 2014 - 10:51 pm

    Aww…that’s sad. Hugs to you and your mom.

    thanks!

    Like

  10. #10 by Mi on February 19, 2014 - 11:15 pm

    😦 so sad 😦

    i know, right? 😦

    Like

  11. #11 by The Other Side of Life on February 20, 2014 - 12:02 am

    Oh..That’s so sad. Must have been painful to watch. 😦

    it was 😦

    Like

  12. #12 by Arch on February 20, 2014 - 12:53 am

    😦 😦
    I hope they rest in peace.

    😦

    Like

  13. #13 by celestialrays on February 20, 2014 - 6:53 am

    This is indeed sad. Hugs to you and Amma!

    thanks!

    Like

  14. #14 by Lavender on February 20, 2014 - 1:13 pm

    RIP little birdies 😦 😦

    😦

    Like

  15. #15 by Dil On The Rocks on February 20, 2014 - 5:30 pm

    I know how sad it is. I saw one bird crashing into the window right in front of me. I can still hear the thud sound. 😦 Hope amma and you are doing better now.

    oh that’s bad. 😦

    Like

  16. #16 by heatherparady on February 20, 2014 - 10:25 pm

    Im sorry!

    😦 thanks

    Like

  17. #17 by Deepa on February 21, 2014 - 11:56 am

    :((((((

    I know how you feel .. but I don’t know what to say ..

    The bonds we share with non-humans … It is so precious and yet, so fragile !

    true 😦

    Like

  18. #18 by Psych Babbler on February 23, 2014 - 5:01 am

    😦 I swear I’ve been seeing suicidal birds…not a joke but lately when I’ve been driving, birds seem to be flying really low and almost hitting the windscreen of the car! Or else, they are hopping in the middle of a busy road. Something’s going on with the planet….

    really? i haven’t come across anything like that, thank goodness.

    Like

  19. #19 by Avada Kedavra on February 24, 2014 - 7:09 pm

    that’s really sad Titaxy 😦 😦 poor birdies.

    indeed

    Like

  20. #20 by anisnest on February 26, 2014 - 3:09 pm

    hugs T.. May both those souls rest in peace..

    thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

