Around the dining table

Growing up, dinner time was not of much significance.

We lived in a joint family setup – with my paternal grandparents, and, sometimes, my uncle and his family – until my teens. Dinner, or any meal for that matter, was served to children first, along with maybe the men in the family, while the women, especially the daughter-in-laws, cooked and served and cleaned before they got their chance at relaxing and enjoying the food. And it was more of getting a chore completed than a pleasurable ritual of sort – we would all sit and finish the food that was on our plates, sometimes complaining, sometimes merrily, and hurry up to get it out of the way.

As I entered my teens, my parents moved us out of the joint family setup and we, the five of us, were now on our own. Still, we never ended up making a memorable tradition out of our mealtimes. If Appa were around, TV would be on, indubitably. And all of us would plop ourselves in front of the idiot box while munching on the food bites. If Appa weren’t around, Amma would have us sit in the kitchen, and it would either be us chatting away letting the food get cold or us silently chewing with only a few words exchanged here and there. Regardless, there was no habit of sorts; it’s just what suited our whims day after another, with no set norm.

Years later, I started living on my own. Now, I had roommate(s) with whom I shared an apartment. Again, in those years nothing changed much. If we were eating at the same time, roommate(s) and I would maybe sit together in front of the tv and eat the food. Else, we ate when each of us fancied and did what we wanted to do. It worked extremely well for this setting though, since we each had our own schedules and moods, so didn’t make much sense bothering others around to adhere to the same. Around and hungry at the same time? Great, we ate together. But there were no issues if it didn’t work out either.

A handful of years of living with roommate(s) gave way to me and K moving into a place that was our home. We started living together, just the two of us. We filled our space with our little quirks and customs we thought was important to us. And the only request K ever had as we started building our own traditions as a family was that whenever we had a meal together, we should make sure that the tv isn’t turned on, hence helping us concentrate on the food and eat well, and also giving us time to connect with each other without any major distractions. I happily gave in to the request; it was something I was not used to and I was looking forward to experiencing it his way.

So, ever since then, we have always made it a point to focus on the food, and each other, while having our meals; we seldom turn the tv on. And I must say, I immensely relish this time of the day. Most of the evenings, we cook after we head back home and then eat after we finish cleaning the kitchen. Most times we talk, generally about the day’s happenings. And at other times, we eat in silence. Even in that quietness, though, rings a calming melody. And all that I cherish, thanks to K.

Last year, we played hosts to a number of guests at our place for the majority of the time. My mother, K’s parents, sister, brother-in-law, cousins, aunts and uncles – all of them traveled all the way from India to spend time with the two of us. And with so many folks around, meal times became even more delightful. I am not sure if K mentioned our practice to them or if they follow it as a family as well, but right from the beginning we all started dining together. No exceptions were made.

Roars of laughter would rise as someone shares a funny anecdote. Polite arguments would arise as someone brings forth a controversial discussion. Tunes of more than one person talking at the same time would have the rest of us in splits. High-pitched voice would be heard as someone is vying for attention from another person across the table. Sentences would be spoken and repeated, for some were hard of hearing, while others (like K) sometimes followed selective hearing in an overly sincere fashion, much to the exasperation of others.

Silence, though, would only fall when someone decided to talk about a heart wrenching incident from the past. Illness. Death. Family problems. Broaching these topics was never easy but it happened from time to time. Be what it may, in those moist eyes of the person recalling the horrific episode, one could invariably spot the reflection of all the other pair of eyes around the table. Silence would break with every pair of eye expressing a million words of consolation. Silence would break with every heavy breath. Silence would break with those first words of request of change in dialogues, reverting attention to some lighthearted chatter.

Suppertime was my favorite time of the day during the eight or so months last year. Even now, months after their departure, every time I walk over to our dining room and look around, I can distinctly see the happy faces; I can close my eyes and hear the voices clearly, as if everyone were still around. And it never fails to bring a big wide smile on my face.

Needless to say, this is the one ritual that I am sure I will follow zealously for years to come.

, , ,

  1. #1 by greenboochi on March 10, 2015 - 12:26 am

    Growing up, we always had all our meals together. I didnt think much of it then, but only in the later years that I was all alone in B’lore that I understood what I missed the most. After getting married, things changed drastically – like at in-laws everyone carries their plate of food and eat whenever or wherever they want. Thankfully, when S moved in with me – he was all for eating together. We cook our food together most of the times and sit together to eat, after cleaning. I am glad I am sticking on this little tradition which gives such a peace of mind.

    Beautiful post T 🙂

    peace of mind, exactly. especially after a long day, it’s wonderful.
    thanks, GB!

    Like

  2. #2 by Scribby on March 11, 2015 - 5:06 am

    certainly, eating at dining table and with family, without TV or books around is the best thing a family can practice. My father always made sure that we as a family follow this and that’s what I’ve been brought up on .. and continuing the same with little chirpy and husby 🙂

    They say, family that eats together, stays together, and they are right 🙂

    🙂 that’s nice.

    Like

  3. #3 by Bikramjit on March 11, 2015 - 12:31 pm

    I have missed that oppurtunity while growing up as i was a hostel boy and was always away .. BUt as you said when my parents visited me here in uk , I made sure that at least 3 or 4 times a week we three sat together to have one meal a day and like you I too still remember those times .. my dad making fun of the Flour here in uk or the taste of vegetables .. and mom moaning about how she hasnot got her cooker to cook the way she wants to cook etc etc etc

    This post brought so many memories

    lol. wish you many more such wonderful fun mealtimes 🙂

    Like

  4. #4 by sumispoke on March 17, 2015 - 10:56 am

    Lovely post. At my house, we only do this with breakfast. It’s a good time to talk, reflect and charge up for the day.

    that’s wonderful. we have breakfast together over the weekends, and some weekdays, but definitely not everyday because i wake up late

    Like

  5. #5 by Mi on May 28, 2015 - 9:11 am

    Lately, since last three years, I’ve been eating alone.. But I find this as interesting and satisfying as the meals I had with my folks. Back in my hometown, we would eat together.. two meals a day atleast! 🙂

    😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

