Running in the Rain

If I were honest with myself, I would happily declare that running isn’t one of my favorite activities. It’s tedious even at its best. So, it came as a huge shock last week when it seemed like it was drizzling out and I still got ready to go for a run. K repeatedly requested that I not go if it was raining. He was sick, and he was concerned I would be more prone to catching the bug if I got dripping wet in the cold conditions that prevailed outside. I assured him that I would come back up in case it was pouring down hard. What better pretext to skipping the jog than nature being the roadblock? Even as I was putting my shoes on, you see, I was playing out an excuse to return within five minutes of heading out with a solid justification.

My plan, however, went off track.

When the first drops of rain hit me as I stepped out, I knew I was going to embark on a journey that was so unusual for me. For years, I have seen people out for a jog in the rain or cold and I’ve wondered what kind of perseverance they must possess to make them do such a thing. And that evening, even if it were just for those few meager minutes, I was one of them. It wasn’t going to be an everyday thing, I knew that. It was a solitary event, I could feel that. But, for then, that was enough to keep me going.

I ran in the cold. I ran in the rain. I ran as the chilly air of my beloved city caressed my already red cheeks. I ran as the spongy shoes let in the water from the puddles that I futilely jumped over. I ran enough to make my body feel hot even in that frigid weather. I ran enough to feel invigorated for days to come. I ran even when the songs stopped playing on my iPod. I ran even when I ran out of things to carry on monologues in my mind.

I ran and I ran and I ran.

  1. #1 by Bikramjit on February 9, 2016 - 6:19 pm

    Running is good.. hope you stopped tooo ..☺☺ he he he he

    Hiw are you. .good to see a post from you..

    Haha yeah.

    Like

  2. #2 by celestialrays on February 10, 2016 - 3:26 am

    Woah
    Go girl! Super proud of you 😀

    You are my inspiration,babe. You know that right?

    Like

  3. #3 by Revs on February 10, 2016 - 9:25 am

    Motivate me, I say! I cry at the thought of running! 😒

    You come here and we will go together. Motivation enough for both of us

    Like

  4. #4 by Comfy on February 11, 2016 - 5:49 pm

    My mind is forever telling me, “Run tomorrow. Tomorrow for sure!” And I have to remind myself how I feel 5 minutes in to any run. I love the feeling of running outside, rain or shine. Once I get started, that is 😛

    Starting problem… Yes, I can relate to that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

