Morning Routine

To be able to wake up at a decent hour so as to not rush in the mornings is a boon in itself. I haven’t done that in years. For me mornings typically entail only of going from a half-sleepy state to an I’m-running-late-I-have-to-hurry state within half hour of opening my eyes. I’ve wanted to change this time and again, and make it a custom of relishing the whole waking up and starting a whole new day experience. I kept putting that task off to the proverbial ‘tomorrow’, however, to get those few extra minutes of sleep bestowed upon my nightly slumber accomplishment slate that sometimes ran into the double digit hours.

You see, it’s not that I am incapable of doing that for whatever reason; it’s merely that I am extremely lazy. Even this morning I woke up at 430. Yes, that early – without forcing myself, without any alarms, without anyone trying their best to get me out of bed, without any pressing work to be completed – I opened my eyes and felt fresh as a daisy even before the sun kissed the city’s skyline. It happens, rarely. Nonetheless, it was futile because I ended up spending the next few hours in bed tossing and turning contemplating how to best utilize the extra hours. And, before I knew it, there went the said extra hours bidding me goodbye. Frustrated with myself for neither dozing off nor spending the time wisely, I went back to sleep after I spotted sun’s magical rays win its sweet quarrel with the window shades. Heights of laziness, no?

What I want, though, is to be able to wake up at a reasonable hour, maybe make my breakfast, maybe meditate a bit, maybe spend a little time reading to get my mind into a calm state, maybe just sit by the window and watch the rain or snow fall, maybe do some low intensity exercise, maybe listen to some soft music, maybe this, maybe that – basically do whatever my whims are at that particular instant before I earmark the last half hour for showering and priming. I’ve realized when I do this I am much less cranky than if I were to madly go about getting ready robotically.

And to head towards that path, I think I have taken the first baby step.

In the last couple of weeks I’ve been trying to assimilate some of the above mentioned acts to my otherwise mundane morning routine. The caveat here is that I get out of bed at my regular hour, not a minute early, and do all that I fancy before heading into work. Of course that means I end up at the office later than most people. Thankfully, work hours are flexible enough and I login in the mornings, along with fulfilling my other impromptu wishes, to finish up anything that may require immediate attention.

While this takes me one step closer to my goal, I don’t want to set the tone this way.

Next, I want to slightly tweak this pattern to accommodate an early-to-rise practice. I want to be active an hour or two before my current schedule and go around doing whatever I’ve been doing the last few weeks. Is this too much to ask? Why does my heart fervently desire it while my mind/body puts up a fierce battle every morning as if it’s starved of sleep? How much time before this gratuitous scuffle settles? Hopefully, not long…

  1. #1 by Comfy on February 11, 2016 - 5:54 pm

    Err.. that was me before kids. Now they are there, waking me up, at a time when I truly want to be sleeping. The bonus side of it is that we sit together and read in the mornings, huddled under a blanket, passing occasional smiles to each other. Not bad, I have to say.

    I kind of know what you mean. One of my close friends has an almost two year old. I spent a few weeks at theirs last year plus we went on a week long vacation together. That was one of the rarest times I’ve gotten out of bed earlier than usual. Without any second thoughts, I used to wake up as soon as I heard her in the mornings. Loved spending every second with her…
    So yeah I guess there’s one way to make me get up early. Now only if I can find a way to keep her with me all the time

    Like

  2. #2 by Arch on February 12, 2016 - 4:18 am

    My battle in the morning is different. Though I wake up really early, my morning gets lost in the cooking, getting ready and rushing to catch the cab. Since I also sleep late, neither is my sleep complete, nor am I enjoying the morning time though I am up early! I used to love the days that me and Bg used to go for a walk early in the morning. I felt fresh then.

    Morning walk sounds nice but I don’t know if I’ll ever get around to doing that winter. Maybe summer
    You cook in the morning? Superwoman you are in my eyes

    Like

  3. #3 by Bikramjit on February 12, 2016 - 5:08 am

    This is what i do.. the moment i wake up which is around 5am , I get out of bed and go for a run .. beleive me that WAKES up .. so next time you wake up early just get out of bed and go for a walk or just go to the lounge and sit .. 🙂

    I wish I could do that someday.

    Like

  4. #4 by Scribby on September 8, 2016 - 10:43 am

    I see myself writing the exact same thing in my mind ! I so want to get into a routine or “Early morning” and do something constructive before I leave for work. That said, I never get late to work despite of sleeping in late,how? that’s because my office starts at 12 pm 🙂 but that’s the whole point, imagine, if I had be getting up say even at 7.30, how much and what all can I be doing with all that time? Just how can I make myself start using this time is a puzzle for me 😦

    😃

    Like

  5. #5 by tkthinks on October 21, 2016 - 11:18 am

    Been there done that and doing that even now, even yesterday.

    😃

    Like

Leave a Reply

